Peace and Freedom

.

Dating is never easy but finding the perfect partner when you live in a tiny, remote village in the Vietnamese mountains is almost impossible. The solution? A love market.

For generations, young people from the patchwork of ethnic minority groups in northern Vietnam have gone to the local town of Sapa on a Saturday night to find their future spouse.

« It was so exciting. I wanted to see if I would meet any nice girls, » traditional Hmong musician Giang A Vang, 50, said of his first visit to the love market three decades ago.

One girl in particular stood out from the crowd.

« When I saw her for the first time I was playing my violin. I asked her if she liked it, if she liked me. I was a little nervous, » he said.

Fortunately, his affections were returned. For the next few weeks, he came back to the…

View original post 835 mots de plus

